D. J. Scott
[Last Update: June 28th, 2018]


This was the very first story of The Sovereignty Cycle, written when I was a teenager. This was a version I abandoned near the end because I decided the story deserved a less satirical treatment than presented herein, though I still plan to rework this into something more serious and more consistent with newer versions of my mythology.

Looking at it in retrospect, there’s some pretty cringey stuff in here. Expect heavy revisions in the future as I rework this into something less laughable.

Planned changes include proper nouns (for example, the "Kingdom of Beowyn" became the "Heirinthian Confederacy" or "High Kingdom of Eurinth" in later version of the mythology, and I will have to finish working out the Palaeoboreanic language family before I'll be able to say what the "real" name is, and this is also true for all character and race names in the story), and in keeping with a desire for a less satirical tone, fewer instances of unabashed comedy, a reduction of technology from a pseudo-medieval setting to a more "sandal punk" or perhaps even late Calcolithic type of environment, and less '90s-inspired dialogue.


About this Website
About the Author
Services & Rates
Contact Me

D. Jon Scott’s WebsiteArtFiction ► Fantasy ► PalæoboreanicaThe Sovereignty Cycle
D. J. Scott

“Chaos & Virtue”

Rise of the Sovereignty
Copyright © 2000 C.E. by Dustin Jon Scott
[Last Update: June 6th, 2018]


The Sovereignty Cycle is a series of novels I was writing from 2000 C.E. to 2013 C.E. (which I plan to finish now that I’ve got the files off of the crashed hard-drive I had the documents stored on). For more information, see Fiction & Worldbuilding: The Sovereignty Cycle.

Inspirations included The Epic of Gilgamesh, Homer’s Illiad & Odyssey, Hesiod’s Theogeny, the works of Aeschylus, Sophocles, Euripides, Virgil, Horace, and Ovid, Beowulf, the Poetic Edda, Snorri Sturluson’s Prose Edda, Jacobus da Varagine’s Golden Legend, Dante Alighieri’s Divine Comedy, Bram Stoker’s Dracula, James Frazer’s The Golden Bough, and Eric Rücker Eddison’s The Worm Ouroboros.

Part I

[11-04-4631] Exordium: “Passing Away”
[13-29-4631] Naissance: “Initiation”
[02-05-4632] Overture: “The Reunion”
[05-16-4632] Preface: “Domicile”
[07-21-4632] Prelude: “The Dark Empress”
[08-07-4632] Prologue: “The Harcroft Estate”
[08-07-4632] Prolusion: “Phantasmata”
[08-07-4632] Prolepsis: “The Specter’s Trove”
[11-19-4632] Interlude: “The Campaign”

Part II

[13-19-4632] Chapter I: “The Temptation”
[13-19-4632] Chapter II: “The Hostelry”
[13-19-4632] Chapter III: “Artifice”
[13-20-4632] Chapter IV: “Acquisitions”
[13-20-4632] Chapter V: “The Arising”
[13-20-4632] Chapter VI: “The Catacombs”
[13-20-4632] Chapter VII: “Redoubt”
[13-20-4632] Chapter VIII: “The Escape”
[13-20-4632] Chapter IX: “Caravan”
[13-20-4632] Chapter X: “Conference”
[13-20-4632] Chapter XI: “The Elven Village”
[13-20-4632] Chapter XII: “Refuge”
[13-20-4632] Chapter XIII: “Barrage”
[13-21-4632] Chapter XIV: “Decamping”
[13-21-4632] Chapter XV: “Bay City”
[13-21-4632] Chapter XVI: “The Victors”
[13-22-4632] Chapter XVII: “Day Break”
[13-22-4632] Chapter XVIII: “The Competition”
[13-22-4632] Chapter XIX: “Departing”
[13-22-4632] Chapter XX: “Round Two”
[13-22-4632] Chapter XXI: “The Chase”
[13-22-4632] Chapter XXII: “The Seduction”
[13-23-4632] Chapter XXIII: “Sterling”
[13-23-4632] Chapter XXIV: “Encounter”
[13-23-4632] Chapter XXV: “Candleton”
[13-24-4632] Chapter XXVI: “The Dragonslayer”
[13-24-4632] Chapter XXVII: “Jailbreak”
[13-24-4632] Chapter XXVIII: “The Ruins of Wartok’nor”
[13-24-4632] Chapter XXIX: “Den of the Fafnir”
[13-24-4632] Chapter XXX: “Hathor”
[13-24-4632] Chapter XXXI: “The Arrival”
[13-24-4632] Chapter XXXII: “Contiguity”
[13-24-4632] Chapter XXXIII: “Scavengers”
[13-24-4632] Chapter XXXIV: “Confrontation”
[13-25-4632] Chapter XXXV: “Reconnaissance”
[13-25-4632] Chapter XXXVI: “Destiny’s Darkness”
[13-26-4632] Chapter XXXVII: “Reinforcements”
[13-26-4632] Chapter XXXVIII: “Violations”
[13-26-4632] Chapter XXXIX: “Battle Plan”
[13-26-4632] Chapter XL: “Stronghold”
[13-26-4632] Chapter XLI: “Insurrection”

Part III

[13-27-4632] Cessation: “The Battlefield”
[01-09-4633] Resiguum: “The Occupation”
[04-11-4633] Desistance: “The Refugees”
[04-26-4633] Desuetude: “”
[06-13-4633] Digression: “The High Priesthood”
[06-15-4633] Epilogue: “The Paladin’s Ghost”